Feature deprecations


This article lists the features and functionality that Genesys has removed from PureCloud or will deprecate in a future update. Development and support for each item discontinues on the designated removal date.

Click in the table below to learn more about each feature deprecation. Below the table, review the list of frequently asked questions.

Feature deprecated Announced on Removal date
Internet Explorer 11 support for PureCloud web app May 29, 2019 December 4, 2019
Classic Agents Performance views May 22, 2019 August 1, 2019
Social channel management April 3, 2019 August 14, 2019
TURN port range February 27, 2019 May 31, 2019
Auditing features in Documents February 6, 2019 Removal date postponed
Legacy permissions February 1, 2019 April 1, 2019
Outbound Campaign: Detailed Attempt History report January 30, 2019 May 22, 2019
Agent dashboard January 16, 2019 May 22, 2019
PureCloud Bridge integrations January 16, 2019 December 31, 2019
PureCloud for Chrome (app and extension) August 1, 2018 August 1, 2018
Website-only web chat configuration July 25, 2018 December 12, 2018
Full-text indexing of files in Documents July 25, 2018 October 31, 2018
Zendesk data dip connector November 15, 2017 May 16, 2018
Edit profile functionality on mobile apps November 14, 2017 February 20, 2019
Microsoft Dynamics CRM data dip connector October 25, 2017 April 30, 2018
Attributes for Documents October 4, 2017 December 4, 2017
Access control based on role name August 9, 2017 November 15, 2017
Oracle Service Cloud data dip connector August 1, 2017 September 1, 2017
Salesforce data dip connector August 1, 2017 August 1, 2018
SharePoint Connector August 1, 2017 September 1, 2017
UltiPro Connector May 1, 2017 November 1, 2017
Directory external contacts April 12, 2017 July 12, 2017
Documents for iOS and Android February 22, 2017 May 24, 2017
Field level permissions January 20, 2017 July 21, 2017

FAQs

Why does Genesys deprecate features and functionality?

Maintaining multiple versions of the same functionality impacts our ability to provide the most value to as many customers as possible. This practice would impact the following:

  • Product Development — A new feature is typically done in a completely different way than the original feature it is replacing.
  • Support and Documentation — We must provide support and documentation for two different versions of the same feature.
  • Account Management — Account Managers/Enablement Leads need to establish which version of the feature an organization is using.
  • Our bottom line — New feature development often requires buying new infrastructure hardware or software licenses, but we must maintain the old infrastructure or software to support customers using old functionality.
  • CUSTOMERS — Efforts to support the original feature detract focus and resources from making the new feature as valuable as possible.

What happens when Genesys announces a deprecation?

When we announce a feature deprecation, we will no longer make enhancements or improvements to what is being deprecated. Our intention is to inform you as early as possible that we are making a change and to help you if you are impacted by that change.

What communication will Genesys give for deprecation?

We will notify you of the deprecation and any new functionality that may replace it using multiple channels: here in the Resource Center, email messaging for account owners and administrators who are impacted, and in-product messaging.

We understand that for many customers, switching to a new process is not a one-person job. Customers with an assigned Enablement Lead may receive a personalized communication from your account team in addition to the email and in-product notifications. This personalized communication may include emails with specific instructions, a phone call to discuss your upgrade process, or engagement with our internal teams to ensure that your essential processes are preserved when you make the switch.

How much notice will Genesys give for deprecations?

We take care to give ample notice of feature deprecation to give customers time to prepare if necessary. You will have at minimum of 90 days from the day we announce a deprecation before the feature or functionality is removed.

Is there a way I can keep the old feature or functionality?

No. Once the deprecation date is reached, the feature will be removed from our service.

To provide customers with the highest quality services possible, our platform must keep pace with evolving security, privacy, and regulatory requirements, as well as offer functionality that is simple and easy to use. That means our product must change with the times. When that happens, we will work hard to minimize the impact to your organization.