Transfer a call


Prerequisites
  • Transfer to queue: Routing > Queue > View assigned to any user role

There are two ways to transfer a call to another person:

  • Blind transfer: Transfer a call without speaking to the intended recipient.
  • Consult transfer: Transfer a call after speaking to the intended recipient.


To perform a blind transfer after making or receiving a call:

  1. From the Calls panel, click  and select Transfer.
  2. Type the phone number in the field and press Enter. Alternatively, begin typing a name and select the intended person or queue from the list of suggestions.

    Note: Use the full phone number. PureCloud does not support extension-only numbers.

  3. Click Blind.The call disappears from your active calls, and PureCloud sends it to the recipient.
    Note: If you perform a blind transfer to a queue, PureCloud remembers the skills-based information applied to the original call.


To perform a consult transfer after making or receiving a call:

  1. From the Calls panel, click  and select Transfer.
  2. Type the phone number in the field and press Enter. Alternatively, begin typing a name and select the intended person or queue from the list of suggestions.
  3. Click Consult.PureCloud places the first participant on hold while it connects with the recipient. 
  4. Do one of the following: 
    • If the intended recipient answers and agrees to the transfer, click Transfer.
    • If the intended recipient does not answer or does not agree to the transfer, click to cancel the transfer.
    • If further consulting between all three participants is necessary before transferring, click All.


Note: Calls transferred to external parties remain connected through PureCloud. These connections result in two call legs: one from the original caller to PureCloud and the other from PureCloud to the transfer recipient. These two call legs can incur charges until one side disconnects.