Transfer voice interactions

Prerequisites

The following permissions:

  • Conversation > Call > Add
  • Routing > Queue > View
  • Routing > Agent > OnQueue
  • Routing > Queue > Join
  • Routing > Queue > Search
  • Routing > Queue > View

There are two ways to transfer a voice interaction to another person, number, external contact, or queue:

  • Blind Transfer: Transfer a call without speaking to the intended recipient.
  • Consult Transfer: Talk with the intended recipient before transferring a call.

Use blind transfer to transfer a call directly to another user, number, external contact, or queue without talking to the intended recipient: 

  1. From the current call, click Blind Transfer  
  2. Type the number that you want to transfer the call to and press Enter. Alternatively, start to type the name of the user, external contact, or queue that you want to transfer the call to and select the name when it appears.
  3. Click Transfer
    Genesys Cloud transfers the call to the number, person, or queue and sends you to after call work.

Note: If you perform a blind transfer to a queue, Genesys Cloud remembers the skills-based information applied to the original call by default. You can strip all skills from a blind transfer in the organization settings.

Use consult transfer to talk with the intended recipient before transferring a call.

  1. From the current call, click Consult Transfer. Consult icon
  2. Type the number that you want to transfer the call to and press Enter. Alternatively, start to type the name of the user, external contact, or queue that you want to transfer the call to and select the name when it appears.
  3. Click Consult

    Genesys Cloud connects to the selected recipient and places the original call on hold. 

  4. To complete the call, use the consult transfer controls: 
    Icon Action

    Hold  

    Place a participant on hold or remove a participant from on hold.

    • To place one of the participants on hold, select the Hold icon beside that participant. While on hold, you and the other participant cannot hear the held participant. The held participant cannot hear you or the other participant and instead hears on hold music. 
    • To connect all three participants in a conference call before transferring, clear all Hold icons. 

    Note: You cannot hold both participants at the same time.

    End Call The end call icon

    Stop a transfer or end a call.

    • To stop the transfer and disconnect the intended transfer recipient, select the End Call icon beside the intended recipient.
    •  To disconnect the original call, select the End Call icon beside the original call.

    Transfer

     

    Transfer the call to the intended recipient. After the call transfers to the person or queue, Genesys Cloud sends you into after call work.

    Mute

    Mute yourself so the other participants cannot hear what you are saying. You can hear the other participants.