Unlock a flow


When you open a locked flow, Architect displays a “This flow is not open for edit and is currently locked by [user name].” message, indicating that someone else is updating the flow’s configuration. The flow opens in “read-only” mode. However, you can view the flow, use Save As to save a copy of the flow under a new name with the most recently saved configuration, or export the configuration to a file and then import it to a separate configuration file. On each type of flow’s tab, the name of the user who locked the configuration appears in the Locked column.

By default, when you edit a flow Architect places a lock on the configuration. Without the appropriate permission, no other user can edit and publish changes while the lock is in place. Your flow opens in “read-only” mode for other users, who can then use Save As, or export the flow to a file and then import into a separate flow.  

To learn how to unlock a configuration, expand the appropriate article.


Saving a flow locks the configuration and prevents other users from editing it. To keep the flow unlocked, you must check it in.  

  1. From the Architect home page, click or hover over the Flows menu and select the desired flow type.
  2. Click the flow you want to open. The flow’s configuration page opens.
  3. Click the arrow at the end of the Save menu and select Check in Version [number].


If you have the Editor or Administrator role, you can remove another user’s lock on a configuration. Unlocking a flow checks in the currently saved changes and creates a new version of the flow.

Unlock a flow from the Architect Home page

  1. From the Architect home page, click or hover over the Flows menu and select the desired flow type.
  2. Select the flow you want to unlock and click the Unlock button. The Unlock Flow dialog box appears with the following message: “Are you sure you want to unlock the selected flow? When unlocking a flow, the currently saved configuration will be checked in as a new version.”
  3. Click Unlock. The name of the user who locked the configuration is removed from the Locked column. Now, you can open the flow for editing.

Unlock a flow from within the flow’s page

  1. From within the flow, click Unlock. The Unlock Flow dialog box appears with the following message: “Are you sure you want to unlock the selected flow? When unlocking a flow, the currently saved configuration will be checked in as a new version.”
  2. Click Unlock.
  3. To make changes to the flow, click Edit.
  4. Click the arrow at the end of the Save menu and select Check in Version [number].