Change the retention days for Collaborate chat messages

Prerequisites
  • Admin role
  • Chat > Setting > View
  • Chat > Setting > Edit

Collaborate chat messages are retained for a set number of days. You can change this retention period to any number of days from 10 to 3650, which is the default.

Notes:
  • The removal of messages begins after business hours on the day the retention period changes.
  • When the retention period reduces substantially, it might take up to a week to complete the removal of all messages dated outside the new period. 
  • ACD chat messages are not affected by this setting.

To change the number of Collaborate chat message retention days for your org:

  1. Click Admin.
  2. Under Account Settings, click Organization Settings.
  3. Click Settings.
  4. Under Security & Compliance, set Chat Message Retention Days by entering the number of days to retain chat messages. This can be any number of days from 10 to 3650.
  5. Click Save.