Turn off Collaborate chat


Prerequisites
  • Admin role

Enable or disable Collaborate chat. This feature is enabled by default.

When you remove chat permissions for all users, chat functionality no longer appears in the following areas in web and desktop applications: 

  • Left navigation bar
  • Activity feeds
  • User profile pages
  • Message notifications
  • User profile cards
  • Video calls
  • Group profile pages
  • User settings
  • Directory listings
  • Agent Assist
  • Favorites listings
  • Inbox

    The equivalent locations and functionality are also removed from iOS and Android mobile applications.

    Notes:
    • The permission and disablement of chat features applies to all PureCloud users and roles. The expectation is that customers interested in disabling Collaborate chat features are using other platforms for collaborative chat. Genesys does not intend to support partial chat disablement, or any odd behavior, bugs, or data discrepancies that arise due to the mixed disablement of chat in the near term.
    • ACD web chat is different from Collaborate chat and is not affected by this procedure. 
    • Disabling Collaborate chat does not disable video calls or favorites.

    To disable chat for your organization:

    1. Click Admin.
    2. Under People & Permissions, click Roles/Permissions.
    3. Select a role from the list.
    4. Click the Permissions tab.
    5. Select Assigned Permissions.
    6. Search for Chat > Chat > Access and clear the check box beside the permission.
    7. Click Save.
    8. Repeat steps 3-7 until you have removed the Chat > Chat > Access permission from all roles within your organization.