Place, transfer, and dismiss a callback

A callback is an outbound call that a contact requests. Contacts can request a callback while in queue waiting for an agent. Genesys Cloud calls the contact when the next agent is available instead of making the contact wait on hold.

Place a callback

  1. Log in as an agent and go on queue
    The Interactions panel opens. Calls appear in the Active Interactions list. The contact’s information and script appear in the Interactions window. For more information about scripts, see Use scripts
  2. To begin dialing the contact, beside the number you want to call, click Begin Call
  3. Complete the call.
  4. End the call and complete after call work (ACW).
  5. Click Done.
  6. To complete the interaction and dismiss the callback, click End Callback.

Transfer a callback

Use blind transfer to transfer a call directly to another user, number, external contact, or queue without talking to the intended recipient: 

  1. From the current call, click Blind Transfer  
  2. Type the number that you want to transfer the call to and press Enter. Alternatively, start to type the name of the user, external contact, or queue that you want to transfer the call to and select the name when it appears.
  3. Click Transfer
    Genesys Cloud transfers the call to the number, person, or queue and sends you to after call work.

Use consult transfer to talk with the intended recipient before transferring a call.

  1. From the current call, click Consult Transfer. Consult icon
  2. Type the number that you want to transfer the call to and press Enter. Alternatively, start to type the name of the user, external contact, or queue that you want to transfer the call to and select the name when it appears.
  3. Click Consult

    Genesys Cloud connects to the selected recipient and places the original call on hold. 

  4. To complete the call, use the consult transfer controls: 
    Icon Action

    Hold  

    Place a participant on hold or remove a participant from on hold.

    • To place one of the participants on hold, select the Hold icon beside that participant. While on hold, you and the other participant cannot hear the held participant. The held participant cannot hear you or the other participant and instead hears on hold music. 
    • To connect all three participants in a conference call before transferring, clear all Hold icons. 

    Note: You cannot hold both participants at the same time.

    End Call The end call icon

    Stop a transfer or end a call.

    • To stop the transfer and disconnect the intended transfer recipient, select the End Call icon beside the intended recipient.
    •  To disconnect the original call, select the End Call icon beside the original call.

    Transfer

     

    Transfer the call to the intended recipient. After the call transfers to the person or queue, Genesys Cloud sends you into after call work.

    Mute

    Mute yourself so the other participants cannot hear what you are saying. You can hear the other participants.

Dismiss a callback

To dismiss the callback without calling the customer or transferring it, click End Callback.

Note: If you click End Callback before you place the call, Genesys Cloud cancels the callback and does not route the interaction back to the queue.