Manage prompts


Prerequisites
  • Architect > UI > View

To work with system prompts, the following permissions:

  • Architect > System Prompt > Edit
  • Architect > System Prompt View

To work with user prompts, the following permissions:

  • Architect > User Prompt > Add
  • Architect > User Prompt > Edit
  • Architect > User Prompt > View

The following list describes the tasks you can perform to manage a prompt. To expand the content, click a link; click the link again to collapse the content.


If you have the appropriate Architect user editor or admin permission assigned to your role, you can edit an existing call prompt. Users with the Architect user read-only permission can only search, view, and listen to prompts in read-only mode.

Note: To reflect the changes in existing flows, you must republish any flows that consume the prompt. For a list of flows that use the prompt, in the Edit Prompt dialog box click Find consuming flows.

  1. From the Architect home page, click or hover over the Prompts menu and select System or User.
  2. To open the prompt you want to edit, do one of the following to open the Edit Prompt dialog box:
    • Click the prompt name.
    • Select the check box next to the prompt you want to edit and click the Edit button.
    • Click the prompt in the Name column.
  3. [User prompts only] Optionally edit the prompt Name and Description.
  4. Optionally modify prompt resources.
  5. Click OK. The updated prompt appears in the prompt list.


When you publish a call flow, Architect "snapshots" the prompt and stores it with the published flow. Deleting a prompt from the User Prompts tab that is used in a published or active flow has no effect on that call flow. When you delete a prompt, you also delete the prompt's resources. You cannot delete system prompts.

  1. From the Architect home page, click or hover over the Prompts menu and select User.
  2. To delete one or more prompts, do one of the following:
    • Select the check box next to the prompt you want to delete and click the Delete button.
    • Select the check boxes next to multiple prompts you want to delete and click the Delete button.
  3. In the Delete Prompt dialog box, click OK