Maintain a flow


Architect provides several ways to manage a flow. In the upper left corner, click the arrow at the end of the Save menu to: 

  • Save a flow
  • Check in the current version of the flow
  • Discard any changes you made, but did not save, in the current session
  • Revert to a previous version of the flow
  • Import an existing flow or export the current flow
Note: You can also validate and publish or unpublish the flow. See the Suggested content.

Save

This action saves the contents of the flow currently open for edit. However, it also keeps the flow “checked out” to you, allowing you to make additional edits. If you make changes to a flow but do not want to save them, select Discard Unsaved Changes to reload the latest saved version.

Check in

Checking in a flow will perform a save but also change the status so the flow is no longer checked out by you. When you check in a flow, other Architect editors and admins can check it out and update it. If they check out a flow that you checked in, Architect creates a new version number for the flow.

Discard Unsaved Changes

If you make changes to a flow and do not choose to save them, select this option to reload the last saved version of the flow.

Revert to Version

Discard changes and return to the last-saved version of the flow:

  • Click arrow at the end of the Save menu and select Revert to Version [X].

Discard changes and republish an earlier version of a flow:

  1. Select the Version [X] button. The Available Versions dialog box opens. 
  2. Select the version you want to republish. The flow opens in a new tab. Click the Export button and save the exported flow to a known location.
  3. In the original flow, do the following:
    1. Close the Available Versions dialog box.
    2. Click the Save drop-down list and select Import. The Import a flow dialog box opens.
    3. Click Select a configuration file to import, navigate to the exported flow, and select it.
    4. Click Import and then click Publish.

Import and Export

You can import and export flow configuration. When you import a file, Architect analyzes the file to determine the type of configuration data that it contains. The prompts you are given depend on the type of file it is importing. You can also export a previously created flow's configuration file for use in another flow. For more information, click to expand the appropriate sections, and click again to close it.

Note: Importing a flow from an outside organization may require some configuration updates; even if for items such as data actions with similar names. Until you update any configuration issues, Architect returns validation errors in the flow.

The Import command imports a flow configuration. Importing a flow will not merge with existing configuration. When you import a flow configuration file into another flow, Architect overwrites any existing configuration in the original flow upon import. To import a flow:

  1. From the Architect home page, click or hover over the Flows menu and select the desired flow type.
  2. Do one of the following:
    • Create a new flow.
    • Click the flow you want to open. When the flow's configuration page opens, click Edit.
  3. Click the arrow at the end of the Save menu and select Import. The Import a flow dialog box opens.
  4. Click the Select a configuration file to import link and navigate to the .i3flow configuration file you want to import.
  5. Click the Import button.
  6. Optionally modify the current configuration.
  7. Save the flow.

You can export a flow's configuration file. This task assumes you have previously created a flow.

  1. From the Architect home page, click or hover over the Flows menu and select the desired flow type.
  2. Click the flow you want to open. The flow's configuration page opens.
  3. Click the arrow at the end of the Save menu and select Export. Architect saves the flow to your downloads folder.