Understand access levels for group workspaces


Each user or group in a group workspace has an access level. The access level determines what the user or group can do with the files in the workspace. The following table shows the available access levels and the permissions associated with them.

Permission

Access Level

Full Access

Contributor

Read Only

View

x

x

x

Download

x

x

x

Upload

x

x

 

Edit

x

 

 

Delete

x

 

 

Share

x

Edit 

x

x x

View Audit Trail

x

x x

For example, a contributor can upload a file but cannot edit or delete it after it has been uploaded.

You can assign both individuals and groups to a shared workspace. If you assign an individual to the workspace as both a user and as an individual, the user receives the combination of all of their personal and group rights. 

Note: If you are using groups to manage access to shared workspaces, keep in mind that an individual inherits the permissions of any groups they belong to. For example, suppose you add Beth as a member of the Marketing workspace, and you assign her Read Only permission. Later you add the Marcom group as a member of the Marketing workspace and you assign the group the Contributor permission. Beth is a member of the Marcom group. Therefore, she receives the Contributor permission.

For more information on how to assign permission to a user or group in a group workspace, see Set up group workspaces.