Edit the JSON configuration


Note:  Not all Bridge Connectors support all functions. See connector-specific articles for details on integration with Active DirectoryCIC DataREST applicationsSQL databases, and Workday.

Genesys Cloud data synchronization
  • In a one-direction data sync, the source system is the system of record. Any manual edits to the target system are overwritten in the next full data re-sync.
  • A full data re-sync writes all source system data to the target system.
  • The following factors can cause a full data re-sync: update in the connector configuration, loss of a temporary database, switch to a backup data sync, or moving the connector to a new server. Starting and stopping the service does not cause a re-sync.
Element Description

configSyncInterval

Sets the amount of time, in seconds, between syncs of configuration. Syncs do not occur while another sync is in progress.
dataSyncInterval Sets the amount of time, in seconds, between syncs of data. Syncs do not occur while another sync is in progress. The default is 3600 seconds. The shorter the sync interval, the more CPU and memory use on the Bridge Server.
mapping

Controls how data transfers between the two systems on a field-by-field basis. The internal property specifies the Genesys Cloud field, and the external property specifies the field in your system.

The direction property specifies which direction data is transferred between the two fields:

  • ex2in — Copies data from your system to Genesys Cloud.*
  • in2ex — Copies data from Genesys Cloud to your system.**
  • ex2in_on_create — Copies data from your system to Genesys Cloud only once to create users. Subsequent changes to your system do not synchronize to Genesys Cloud.
  • 2way_in — Copies data in both directions, but if data is changed in both locations simultaneously, Genesys Cloud wins.*
  • 2way_ex — Copies data in both directions, but if data is changed in both locations simultaneously, your system wins.*

*   Ex2in does not check for or preserve changes in Genesys Cloud. If you make any changes in Genesys Cloud, those changes will remain until a source system change overwrites them or a full data re-sync writes all source system data to the Genesys Cloud target system.

** Genesys Cloud does not write to your system by default. To do so, you must add the update task. See the example below.

tasks

Sets the operations that occur during each data synchronization in the order that they occur. The JSON configuration can contain the following tasks:

  • read — Reads people from Genesys Cloud and your system. This task should always be first. 
  • link_users — Determines which user in Genesys Cloud corresponds to which user in your system. This task should always be second. 
  • create_users — Creates users in a system where they currently do not exist by syncing them with a system where they do exist. This task ignores users to be deleted by a delete_users task. Use two create_users for users in both Genesys Cloud and your system. Use a filter to limit the task to a subset of all users; otherwise it will attempt to create the same users every sync operation. See the example below. Use "reinstate"=true in create_user to restore deleted users.
  • update — Looks for users in one system where the data does not match and syncs the data between systems. If a user exists in one system but not the other system, the user is not created. The default update task is ex2in but it must include in2ex to update external data. This task is required for writing data from Genesys Cloud to your system; it is not included in default configurations. See the example below
  • delete_users — Deletes users from Genesys Cloud that no longer exist in your system. You can use the delete_users task in two ways: 1) Use the delete_missing_external users : true parameter to the make the task delete Genesys Cloud users created from a previous sync with your system, 2) Use multiple delete_users tasks that contain filters to delete different subsets of users. See the examples below. To restore deleted users, see the create_user task.
  • delete_from_external — Deletes users in your system that are marked deleted in Genesys Cloud. This task is not supported if you are specifying a create_users task with direction of ex2inSee the example below
  • limit_db_size — Limits the size of the DataSync database by deleting information in the DataSync tables. 

task examples

The order of the tasks is important. Always keep the read task first and the link_users task second. 

create_users with filter

{
   "name": "create_users",
  "filter": [
     {
        "user_state": {
           "membership": "inclusive",
           "exists": "external_only"
        }
     }
 ],
 "direction": "ex2in",
 "required": [
    "User.Mail",
    "User.Name"
    ],
 "reinstate": "true"
}

update

{
   "name": "update",
  "direction": "ex2in"
},
{
  "name": "update",
  "direction": "in2ex"
},

delete_users with delete_missing_external users

{
  "name": "delete_users",
  "delete_missing_external_users": "true",
  "direction": "ex2in"
}

delete_users with filter

{
   "name": "delete_users",
   "filter": [
      {
         "field_test": {
            "membership": "inclusive",
            "name": "User.TelephoneNumber",
            "value": "303-775-1142",
            "op": "contains"
         }
      },
      {
         "user_state": {
            "membership": "exclusive",
            "state": "deleted"
         }
      }
   ],
   "direction": "ex2in"
 }

delete_from_external

{
   "name": "delete_from_external",
   "filter": [ 
      {
         "user_state": {
         "membership": "exclusive",
         "state": "deleted"
         }
      }
   ]
}